New Erf
Please login to your New Erf forum account

Rules Questions

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Rules Questions

Post  DSSCRA on Thu Jan 13, 2011 11:58 pm

I have a question about the rules so I made this topic because I didn't see any other place to ask.



Are we allow to not be a side but instead be a barbarian caster?


The main reason I ask is because while I want to play I don't really want to devote too much time and if I'm not willing to devote much time to my actions I don't want my actions to affect others too much.

DSSCRA
Marbit
Marbit

Posts : 3
Join date : 2011-01-13

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  Twoy on Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:57 am

That would be up to the gamemasters, but as a player, I would be willing to hire a barbarian caster run by a player.
avatar
Twoy
Hobgobwin
Hobgobwin

Posts : 81
Join date : 2010-12-12

Side Info
Side Name: Kingdom of Narnia
Rank: Ruler

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  doom3607 on Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:52 am

I'd hire him on the condition that the rest of his stack is seven troops loyal only to me. Smile Listen, for paranoia hath spoken!
avatar
doom3607
Hobgobwin
Hobgobwin

Posts : 71
Join date : 2010-12-11

Side Info
Side Name: Unified Vaygr Clans
Rank: Ruler

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  Twoy on Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:16 am

I was thinking that the only barbarian mancers that would be fun to play are dollamancers and dirtamancers. That way you could build your own armies and get a leadership bonus. Croakamancers could also be fun, but the spells that croakamancers have seem to be less valuable for building an army than dolls and golems.

That means if you hire a barabarian caster run by a player you might have a better chance to win. OTOH, you might have a better chance to lose if he turns on you.


Last edited by Twoy on Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:29 am; edited 1 time in total
avatar
Twoy
Hobgobwin
Hobgobwin

Posts : 81
Join date : 2010-12-12

Side Info
Side Name: Kingdom of Narnia
Rank: Ruler

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  HerbieRai on Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:16 am

When we were originally talking about this game, we were going to allow players to act as barbarians and such. I'm not sure if there would be a way for you to recruit troops unless you were a doll or dirt. Early game you are going to want troops so you can gain some levels while the rest of us try to build our cities. You also may have some issues coordinating with other players, and many wont trust you. I do like and approve the idea, although the GMs will have the final say.

HerbieRai
Hobgobwin
Hobgobwin

Posts : 76
Join date : 2010-12-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  Twoy on Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:41 am

I'm thinking that a barbarian caster would be stuck in the Magic Kingdom until a player hired him. Based on the pre-beta test so far, a barbarian caster would not be able to join the game until around turn 25 or so. A barbarian caster would be able to cast spells and thus gain levels during those 25 turns; however, he would not be able have troops (I think) because he would not be able to provide upkeep. He should be able to make level 5 by turn 25, which would make the character interesting to play and perhaps interesting for an overlord to hire him.
avatar
Twoy
Hobgobwin
Hobgobwin

Posts : 81
Join date : 2010-12-12

Side Info
Side Name: Kingdom of Narnia
Rank: Ruler

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  DSSCRA on Mon Jan 17, 2011 12:46 am

As for what caster I would be the obvious choice is Retconjamancer...






Anyway seriously I would probably go with Carnymancy, Changemancy, Signamancy, or Healomancy.


Carnymancy for Extort and taming wild units in adition to the fact that as stagemancers when they reach lvl 10 they can use portal hat.

Changemancy for lulzy terrain editing.

Signamancy for their high lvl spells like Ergot Poisoning Fight the Man!.

Healomancy for def bonuses and access to reroll.




"They also have a 1% chance to have talent in all Schools of magic, with the exception of Retconjuration"


Assuming I get this automatically then I might change some of those.


DSSCRA
Marbit
Marbit

Posts : 3
Join date : 2011-01-13

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  Shusagi on Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:39 pm

I talked to thetobias, and the current decision is that we probably aren't allowing Barbarian Casters. The main reason is that they'd have barely anything to do, wouldn't really be able to play a big role in the game world (Yeah, they could hire themselves out to a side.. But a side'll already have 2-3 other casters and the option to hire from the Magic Kingdom, so really it's just a slight boost). While a ruler gets to manage multiple city productions, unit orders, determine how their multiple casters will spend juice, decide on upgrades, determine scouting patterns, etc.

A barbarian casters gets to.. Move.. Possibly enter combat.. Spend juice. The barbarian caster would be basically forced to ally with the first side that finds them or be killed (Who would want to let the caster go off to some other side when they could kill them now for a couple EXP?). Yeah, you could always betray them, but unless you're one of the 4 or 5 caster types that have units loyal to you, you'll be on your own. And even with a few rock golems or cloth golems, your ruler'd likely have the forces to take you down if you tried to flee.

So, in short, we think it'd be not that fun to play a Barbarian caster, and it'd be short-lived.

Shusagi
Gobwin
Gobwin

Posts : 48
Join date : 2010-12-15

Side Info
Side Name:
Rank:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  SirShadow on Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:08 pm

Aye, having barbarian units would only be viable for RP purposes, not really mechanic utility...

SirShadow
Titan
Titan

Posts : 88
Join date : 2010-12-10
Age : 28

Side Info
Side Name:
Rank:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  Solnavi on Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:30 pm

My Fwost Wrwm (Special D) has a move of 20, flight, and ranged... Could I possibly do fly-by shootings with them?


And also, how exactly do you build a new city?
avatar
Solnavi
Marbit
Marbit

Posts : 13
Join date : 2011-01-18
Age : 30
Location : Bristol, RI

Side Info
Side Name: Teh Fwozen Thwone
Rank: Ruler

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  Twoy on Sat Jan 22, 2011 1:00 am

Send a warlord with enough shmuckers to the hex where you want the city built (there must be at least two hexes of space between cities) and the warlord says, Pop "Name of City."
avatar
Twoy
Hobgobwin
Hobgobwin

Posts : 81
Join date : 2010-12-12

Side Info
Side Name: Kingdom of Narnia
Rank: Ruler

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  Nihila on Sat Jan 22, 2011 4:11 am

My Fwost Wrwm (Special D) has a move of 20, flight, and ranged... Could I possibly do fly-by shootings with them?
Yes, provided the following:
1) Your stack has leadership.
2) No enemy Ranged stacks are in the hex.

If there are any enemy Ranged stacks, you'll have to engage those first, in which case you will suffer retaliation.
avatar
Nihila
Hobgobwin
Hobgobwin

Posts : 98
Join date : 2010-11-22

Side Info
Side Name: Snowpoint
Rank: Ruler

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  Solnavi on Sat Jan 22, 2011 10:26 am

Can a unit with more than one Breath Weapon use all of it's Breath Weapons in a combat, might be giving my Fwost Wywms Fire Breath on top of their Smoke Breath.
avatar
Solnavi
Marbit
Marbit

Posts : 13
Join date : 2011-01-18
Age : 30
Location : Bristol, RI

Side Info
Side Name: Teh Fwozen Thwone
Rank: Ruler

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  Nihila on Sat Jan 22, 2011 10:32 am

I can't remember when, but thetobias has stated that a unit can only take one Breath Weapon.
avatar
Nihila
Hobgobwin
Hobgobwin

Posts : 98
Join date : 2010-11-22

Side Info
Side Name: Snowpoint
Rank: Ruler

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  Solnavi on Sat Jan 22, 2011 11:04 am

3 questions this time, trying to be not to spam too much in this topic ....


1) How long do Smoke/Acid/Bubble Breath last? Until the end of the current turn or the end of the day?

2) Retconjurers seem pretty ridiculous... their own spells are pretty OP, not to mention the fact that as naughtymancers can use some croakamancy as well.... are there plans to fix/nerf them?

3) Can you buy magic items from the Magic Kingdom? Can you buy them from other players?
avatar
Solnavi
Marbit
Marbit

Posts : 13
Join date : 2011-01-18
Age : 30
Location : Bristol, RI

Side Info
Side Name: Teh Fwozen Thwone
Rank: Ruler

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  Nihila on Sat Jan 22, 2011 11:59 am

While I cannot answer your first or third topics, I will tell you that Retconjurers cannot be popped and that Retconjuration is only possible in the comic, and only by the Titans Rob Balder and Jamie Noguchi/Xin Ye.
avatar
Nihila
Hobgobwin
Hobgobwin

Posts : 98
Join date : 2010-11-22

Side Info
Side Name: Snowpoint
Rank: Ruler

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  Shusagi on Sat Jan 22, 2011 1:32 pm

1) In the comic, seems to be the end of the turn, so I'd say that. Also, pretty OP if you can hit-and-run Bubble to permanently immobilize a unit, or hit-and-run Smoke to prevent enemies from being able to attack effectively due to lack of leadership.
2) thetobias wants to replace Retconjurers with Deletionists and balance them out. Retconjurers, even in the ruleset they were placed in, aren't able to be popped.
3) The magic items produced by Stuffamancers should be sell-able since you could just hire them to make them for you anyways, as far as other magic item types, I'm sure when they're implemented they should be.

Shusagi
Gobwin
Gobwin

Posts : 48
Join date : 2010-12-15

Side Info
Side Name:
Rank:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  HerbieRai on Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:44 am

Question about fabrication equation. In the rules, it is
(.5+(1/n + 1))*n/3

is it supposed to be
(.5 + 1/( n + 1))*n/3.

The second would make crafting take a while longer, but not by much. The first is whats written, but mathmatically why have the .5 and 1 separate, since they can be added to make
(1.5 + 1/n)*n/3

HerbieRai
Hobgobwin
Hobgobwin

Posts : 76
Join date : 2010-12-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  Shusagi on Tue Jan 25, 2011 3:30 pm

HerbieRai wrote:Question about fabrication equation. In the rules, it is
(.5+(1/n + 1))*n/3

is it supposed to be
(.5 + 1/( n + 1))*n/3.

The second would make crafting take a while longer, but not by much. The first is whats written, but mathmatically why have the .5 and 1 separate, since they can be added to make
(1.5 + 1/n)*n/3

The Dollamancer spell "Fabricate" says that 3 Turns of work = +1 to a stat.
Reverse engineering the formula from this, it seems to be
[.5 + 1/(n+1)]n/3 stat points per turn. (when n = 1, [.5+1/(2)]/3 = 1/3) so one fabricator can make a +1 item in 3 turns (Or a +10 item in 30 turns, etc.)

If two fabricators worked together, [.5+1/(2+1)]*2/3 = 10/18 stat points per turn, a little over half a stat point per turn. Two fabricators can make a +1 item in 2 turns (Or a +10 item in 18 turns).

So, a fabricator will make +1 in items per 3 turns. Grouping them together improves their efficiency at making that single item, but if you plan to make multiple items, keeping them seperate is best.

Shusagi
Gobwin
Gobwin

Posts : 48
Join date : 2010-12-15

Side Info
Side Name:
Rank:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  333 on Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:57 am

Ok, small question: What resource point would be built on a swamp hex, and how many shmuckers would it produce?

333
Marbit
Marbit

Posts : 7
Join date : 2011-03-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  HerbieRai on Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:29 pm

I believe you use a farm, and it has the same income as a normal farm.

Question: From what in comic did we decide that "rider" was a special and not something that all non heavy/ non mount units can do?

HerbieRai
Hobgobwin
Hobgobwin

Posts : 76
Join date : 2010-12-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  Ir-LFNT on Sun Mar 20, 2011 4:51 pm

A few questions:

1. Do simple -mancers have casters' ability to issue commands?

2. Do simple -mancers provide a leadership bonus to things they created using spells? If so, is the bonus based on their level in that discipline (i.e. a simple dirtamancer casts as a level 1 dirtamancer, so he gives +1 to dirt golems) or on their actual level?

3. Do dittomancers provide bonuses to duplicates?

4. Can casters order improvements built? Can simple -mancers? Can units with the leadership special?

5. To build an improvement, does the warlord/courtier/builder/whatever have to stay in the hex where the improvement is being built, or can it move before the improvement is finished? If it can move, can it work on other improvements?

6. I think this has been mentioned elsewhere, but how does exp/leveling up work?

7. I don't think I'm reading the warlord and heir stats right. It looks like they have no starting hits, combat, defense, or move; and 10/4 + 1d4/4 + 1d4/5 points to spend, which would lead to very wimpy warlords. What are their actual stats?

Ir-LFNT
Marbit
Marbit

Posts : 9
Join date : 2011-03-16

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  HerbieRai on Mon Mar 21, 2011 6:09 am

I'm not a GM, so these aren't neccisarly correct, but my understanding is:

1) No, they just have the ability to cast. If they have leadership as well then they can issue commands

2) I don't think so, but could easily be wrong on this one

3) Not sure what you mean by duplicates on this one

4) I believe only character types can build improvements, so casters can, but simple mancers and units with leadership cannot

5) They must stay in the hex

6) I think its at the end of the combat section (I can't open the sheets where I am). After a fight, you get experiance equal to the upkeep of the units you kill, so 3 stabbers would be 90 exp. When you reach a certian threashold (depends on your level), you level up.

7) Not every warlord is equal. When a warlord is created, you have the basic 10/4/4/5 stats, and then the attack and defense have random number 1 through 4 added to attack and defense (separate random numbers)

2, 3, and 6 are the ones I'm not that sure about.

HerbieRai
Hobgobwin
Hobgobwin

Posts : 76
Join date : 2010-12-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  Ir-LFNT on Mon Mar 21, 2011 7:53 am

Thanks for the answers. As for "duplicates" in question 3, I'm referring to Dittomancers' abilities to make copies of a unit/stack/multiple stacks using spells like Xerox, Mass Xerox, Widespread Xeorox, and Attack of the Clones.

Ir-LFNT
Marbit
Marbit

Posts : 9
Join date : 2011-03-16

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  captain napalm on Tue Jun 28, 2011 12:49 am

This will seem like a stupid question, but...

I just read the rules, and the beginning of the main section says "you start with a ruler and 10k$ in a hex of your favoured terrain type." OK, so do you start with a city? Does the cost of your starting city (7500$) come out of your starting purse, leaving you with $2500? Or do you automatically have a level 1 city for free?

Also, I'm sure someone has asked this already, but I haven't seen the answer--do your units get a free terrain adaptation (or whatever it's called) special for your favoured/starting terrain type?
avatar
captain napalm
Gobwin
Gobwin

Posts : 28
Join date : 2011-06-27

Side Info
Side Name: Franse
Rank:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Questions

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum